ESET vs Symantec

See what former customers of Symantec have to say about ESET solutions.

Plenty of features

ESET is a solid product with plenty of features and is highly successful in catching both viruses and malware. It is a much higher quality product than its predecessor, Symantec Anti-Virus.

ESET's Rip-n-Replace installer did a better job uninstalling Symantec Antivirus than Symantec's own product.

Dave McCue
IT Manager, City of Paso Robles
Published: March 4, 2017

No more crashing

(5/5 STARS)

I have ESET installed on all of our Workstations and laptops. Moved to ESET from Symantec, never had a crash of the program since install two to three years ago. Symantec crashed on an average of every other week.

The program is solid and I have yet had a situation where it crashed or failed on its expected protection. Great price and so much better than any of the other programs I have had the opportunity to use.

Patrick Morrow
IT Manager, Hennessey's Tavern
Published: July 18, 2017

More effective than Symantec

(5/5 STARS)

Yes, we have had ESET “catch” viruses that our former Symantec product didn’t even notice. We love ESET – easy to implement and manage.

Doug Rathburn
IT Manager, Town of Derry
Published: July 21, 2017

Saved my computer

It has saved my computer. It is easy to use and reminds me when updates needed.

IT Director
Medium Enterprise Professional Services Company
Published: January 19, 2018

Management from anywhere is a plus

With the ERA console, the ability to see and manage my endpoints from anywhere was a huge plus. [It's] light on resources, heavy on protection. :)

Jim Griffin
Network Administrator, Global Packaging, Inc.
Published: April 27, 2018

Light and easy

Very easy to use with the centralized management console. Price point is great as well. The biggest benefit is really the low footprint at the endpoint. We are not seeing processors pegged at 100 percent when utilizing ESET.

Joe Segal
IT Director, IATSE National Benefit Funds
Published: October 2, 2017

Excellent experience

(5/5 STARS)

I have personally been an ESET customer for over 12 years and because of my personal experience and consistently excellent independent product reviews, I have deployed ESET products in work environments for over 10 years. My experience has been overwhelmingly positive with the various ESET products and their service and support. At one company which was using Symantec products, I experienced a PC failure at least monthly due to malware. After switching to ESET products, I only saw one or two PC’s fail per year even after the number of PC’s in service grew from around 35 to around 175 operational units. In that company, our ROI was massive from both employee productivity and labor saved within the IT department.

David Neyssen
Network Administrator, Charles Rutenberg Realty
Published: July 21, 2017

Works great

I’ve been pleased with all levels of ESET. Sales was easy, the pricing was great, the product works great and is pretty simple to use, and the couple of times I’ve dealt with tech support they have been fast, knowledgeable, and friendly.

Corey Marquardt
Network Administrator, Iowa State Education Association
Published: May 5, 2017

It just works

(5/5 STARS)

Yes, it just works. With other products (e.g. Symantec) in the past, they were very problematic and occasionally allowed a threat through the system. With ESET, we know it’s there and running, without sacrificing performance.

IT Manager, Medium Enterprise Agriculture Company
Published: July 18, 2017

Reliable

[Our] previous product was not as reliable at detecting threats. Lower cost of ESET was an added bonus.

IT Manager, State & Local Government Agencry
Published: November 21, 2017

Peace of mind

ESET has given us a better piece of mind knowing that there is an effective product that contributes to a layered approach of data protection. Microsoft did not have a good "real time" antivirus product.

IT Manager, Medium Enterprise Professional Services Organization
Published: October 31, 2017

No more Symantec

Many moons ago, we used Symantec. We found it to be a resource hog. Found ESET and haven't looked back.

Chief Technology Officer, Non-Profit Organization
Published: December 4, 2017

Former Symantec user

Since deploying ESET throughout our company, I have found that all of our problems associated with viruses and spyware have vanished. I tell everyone about ESET. I also love that performance is not affected even on older machines. The administration console is also a pleasure to use.

Scott Mitchell
IT Professional, Eck Enterprises Inc.
Published: March 8, 2017

Seamless migration

(5/5 STARS)

The entire process of switching from Symantec and continuing on with ESET has been seamless, easy, and effective. The pricing is perfect as well.

Michael Sadowski
IT Manager, Parkview Christian Church
Published: July 18, 2017

Game changer

Symantec was giving us fits and killing productivity. The swap to ESET was an instant game changer. Everything ran faster!

IT Professional
Medium Enterprise Aerospace & Defense Company
Published: December 18, 2017

Easy to manage

We have been using ESET for over 6 years. It works great and we love the management console (centralized). We have over 800 workstations and it really helps us monitor and manage everything.

Jackie Imus
IT Director, Midwest Eye Consultants
Published: December 20, 2017

Easy to use solutions

ESET provides solid, easy to use solutions that are not burdened with buzzword-laced interfaces and bad performance like their competitors.

IT Administrator, Small Business Computer Services Company
Published: August 29, 2017

Easy to use solutions

ESET provides solid, easy to use solutions that are not burdened with buzzword-laced interfaces and bad performance like their competitors.

IT Manager, Medium Enterprise Industrial Manufacturing Company
Published: October 10, 2017

From Symantec to ESET

Symantec simply didn't work. It was broken and I needed a rock solid platform like ESET so I can focus on other areas that need dire attention.

Chief Technology Officer, Medium Enterprise Automotive Transportation Company
Published: December 4, 2018